MULAM – Back to the Roots I Email :

Phone Numbers :+91-6303868045 ,+91-9182984550

Navaratri Day-1

Shailaputri (Prathama Avatar)

shailaputri (1)

Sharan Navaratri

The Navaratri Ustav is the most celebrated of all the festivals. It is celebrated across the country with zest and fervour. People celebrate and call for different names throughout India. 

For example: In Gujarat, it is a folk festival, it is Durga Puja in Bengal, Battukama in Telangana, and in Kerala, it is connected to the harvest festival and so on…

Navaratri means nine nights. During these nine days, Jagan matta is worshipped with Bhakti and Nista by devotees. Jagannatha killed the cruel demons Madhu-Kaitabha, Shumbha-Nishumbha, the cruel demons Madhu-Kaitabha, Shumbha-Nishumbha, the cruel demons Madhu-Kaitabha, Shumbha-Nishumbha, Mahishasura and so on.

शरत्काले महापूजा क्रियते या च वार्षिकी ।

तस्यां ममैतान्महात्म्यं श्रुत्वा भक्ति समन्वितः ॥

The above sloka is from Markandeya Puranam, which explains that through special worship of Matta and chanting Devi Manhattan during sarathkala, Matta becomes happy and gives all sorts of happiness to her devotees.

Each festival in India has an essence and flavour of its own and needs to be experienced. Navratri is our national festival and it is the major festival of Hindus. This festival spans nine days and nine nights. It is particularly popular in Bihar, Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Tripura, and Jharkhand.During this puja huge clay Skathi idols of ten armed goddesses were made and worshipped in specially made Mandapas. Like when Ganapati immersion is done, Durga immersion also takes place on the last day of Navaratri. These are the nine avatars of Durga that will be worshipped by devotees for nine days. The names of these avatars differ from state to state.

Let us know about each avatar,decoration, prasadam offered, flowers used, and mantras recited on each day of avatars.

  • Day 1: Shailaputri. Known as the Pratipada, 
  • Day 2: Brahmacharini. ..
  • Day 3: Chandraghanta….
  • Day 4: Kushmanda. …
  • Day 5: Skandamata. …
  • Day 6: Katyayini. …
  • Day 7: Kalaratri. …
  • Day 8: Mahagauri.
  • Day 9: Siddhidaatri

Day - 1 Shaila Putri Nava Durga

Shailaputri is the first form of avatar that appears to devotees during the Navaratri celebrations.  Shaila Putri is called by different names like “sati,” “Bhavani,” or “Hemavati.” Shailaputri means “Putri” ( daughter) of the mountain (Shila) Goddess, who wears several gold ornaments.

In south India , they call this avatar Swarna kachita. Durga holds a Trishula in her right hand and a Crescent Moon on her forehead, and sits on a bull. We can say it is the installation day of Durga Navaratri puja.and she controls the mother element.

Colour : Gold Colored saree /dress in south India , yellow colour is used in North India.

Flowers: yellow or Gold colored flowers

Prasadam: Kattu Pongal, Vadapappu, (soaked moong dal)

In the north, they offer ghee to God. They believe offering ghee will relieve devotees from all kinds of diseases.

Mantra: “Vande Vanchhitlabhay Chandrardhkritshekhram. Vrisharudham Shuldham Shailputri Yashaswini.””


By worshipping her, one can overcome the bad effects of the moon because she is absolutely a form of Mother Nature

NAVARATRI  also called Navratri, Navratri,  Navaathri, Navratri, Navratan, Nauratan, Observed by Hindus