MULAM – Back to the Roots I Email :

Phone Numbers :+91-6303868045 ,+91-9182984550

National Flag

Gandhi first suggested a flag for the Indian National Congress in 1921.  within the center was a typical textile machine, symbolizing Gandhi’s thing of creating Indians’ tone- reliant by fabricating their own attire, between a red stripe for Hindus and a green stripe for Muslims. 

There is a flag for each free country on the planet. It represents a free nation. The Indian flag was adopted in its current design by the Constituent Assembly on July 22, 1947, a few days before India gained independence from the British on August 15, 1947. It was used as the national flag of the Dominion of India from 15 August 1947 to 26 January 1950, and then the Republic of India. The Indian national flag is referred to as “tricolour” in India.

The national flag of India could even be a vertical tricolour with equal amounts of deep saffron (Kesari) at the top, white in the middle, and dark green at the bottom. The flag moves between two and three times its length per second. A cortege blue wheel, which stands for the chakra, might even be present in the centre of the white band. The wheels on the abacus are similar to those on Ashoka’s Sarnath Lion Capital. The white band’s and its 24 spokes’ approximate range can be inferred from its border. 

Flag’s colour scheme 

The top band of the Indian national flag is saffron in colour, signifying the nation’s bravery and strength. Peace and confirmation with the Dharma Chakra are indicated by the white middle band. The last band, which is green, symbolises the land’s fertility, growth, and good fortune. 

The Chakra 

The “wheel of the law” that can be seen on the marble Sarnath Lion Capital, which was made by Mauryan Emperor Ashoka in the third century BC, is pictured on the Dharma Chakra. The chakra stands for the notion that when there is movement, life happens, and when there is stagnation, death happens.

Flag law 

On January 26, 2002, the Indian flag law was modified, and after several times of independence, the citizens of India were eventually allowed to hoist the Indian flag over their homes, businesses, and manufactories on any day and not just on public days as was the case ahead. Now Indians can proudly display the general public flag anywhere and at any time, provided that the provisions of the Flag law are strictly adhered to prevent any disrespect for the tricolour. The Flag law of India, 2002, has been divided into three corridors for convenience’s sake. An overview of the ensign is provided in Part I of the law. The public display of the national flag by individuals, private associations, educational institutions, etc. is addressed in Part II of the law. The display of the ensign by the Central and State governments, as well as their organisations and agencies, is addressed in Part III of the Code.